Cemetery Commission

The North Haven Cemetery Association relinquished control of the three Town Cemeteries: Old Center, New Center on Elm Street and Montowese on Quinnipiac Avenue, to the Town of North Haven on July 1, 1988.

A Commission was established to act as an advisory board to monitor the direction of cemetery activities. The Cemetery Commission is made up of seven (7) appointed members with the First Selectman being an ex-official member with voting rights. The Commission also oversees the upkeep and preservation of the Ancient Cemetery on the Green. Meetings are held quarterly.